The Bible

The Bible includes the Hebrew Scriptures (Old Testament), the Apocrypha, and the New Testament. The Bible is the word of God written by human authors whom the Holy Spirit inspired. The collect for proper 28 says God caused the scriptures to be written for our learning so that we might hear, mark, learn, inwardly digest them and hold fast to the hope of eternal life. (BCP 236) 

What we believe

The Catechism

Presented in a question-and-answer format, the catechism gives further commentary on the creeds by addressing major categories of Christian doctrine: human nature, God, the teachings of scripture, the life of the church, the sacraments, and Christian hope, among others. The Catechism may be a helpful resource for those preparing for confirmation, reception, or renewal of faith. (BCP 845)

The Sacraments

A sacrament is an outward and visible sign of an inward and spiritual grace. Baptism is the primary sacrament of the church, whereby we are united to Christ and adopted as children of God, made members of the communion of saints, and inheritors of the Kingdom of God. The Holy Eucharist is the second primary sacrament, whereby we remember Christ’s life, death, and resurrection, and whereby we consecrate bread and wine in a prayer of thanksgiving for the purpose of receiving Christ’s body and blood. (BCP 859) Other sacramental rites have evolved and are recognized as means of grace. They include confirmation, ordination, holy matrimony, reconciliation, and unction.

The Creeds

The creeds are symbols of faith that present to us our basic beliefs about God. The two primary creeds include The Nicene Creed and the Apostles Creed. Credo is Old Latin for “I believe.” However, the Nicene creed was originally written in Greek and began with the words “we believe.” As a statement of faith made by a collective body, the word “we” prioritized the communal nature of the Christian faith. Today, the Book of Common Prayer places the Nicene creed after the sermon in the liturgy of the Holy Eucharist.

The Book of Common Prayer

The Book of Common Prayer is the book where one can find the principal forms of Divine Worship for The Episcopal Church, namely, the primary services of Holy Baptism and Holy Eucharist. Other rites and ceremonies, including major feasts and fasts, pastoral offices, and the daily office, may also be found. The Episcopal Church has also authorized various trial use liturgies as supplemental to the Book of Common Prayer.